Review: Scrubs by Brooke Harris

Author: Brooke Harris

Tittle: Scrubs

Series: Scrubs, book 1

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Suspense, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 112 pages, Ebook

Published: December 4th, 2015

Source: I received an eARC of this book Xpresso Book Tours via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558321867


Blurb (from Goodreads):

I like fast cars and a stiff drink.
I hate drugs. I can’t stand the idiots who take them and I loathe the bastards who supply them. Drugs cost me my whole world.
I wear many faces; right now I’m Doctor Lucas Callaghan and I’ll be him until I get my revenge.
My real name will be the last words to ever pass their lips.

I hate my name, Aoife Brennan, as soon as people hear it they treat me differently because of my father.
Medical school isn’t my dream, it’s his. But, it’s the least I owe him after everything I’ve done. I’m trying to be a good girl, but even good girls make mistakes.

He’s lying about who he is, she’s kidding herself about who she can be. They’re polar opposites with one very big secret in common.

[Please note: SCRUBS is a novella serial. Part One ends on a cliffhanger. 18+ adult content and language.]


PicsArt_1443945753901

Have you people seen the delicious cover? I tried to resist okay. But in the end the temptation won over! 😛 So, Scrubs is actually a novella where the story will be be revealed in a few parts. It’s full of suspense with a set of great character which made it a pretty fun read.

Lucas is working undercover to catch one of the biggest drugs mafia who is also responsible for the death of his fiancé eight years ago who died because of an overdose. He returns to his hometown with a new identity to take revenge. There he meets Aoife, a student in the hospital where he starts working. Their chemistry is undeniable. Lucas knows he should focus only on his work but he’s unable to stay away from her. But can they really be together when so much is at stake?

I really enjoyed the plot, it was fast paced and laced with suspense throughout the book. Lucas is not his real name but he took that name for this mission. He has only one motto, to take revenge for his fiancé death whom he loved very much. Not much is given away in this book, I guess we’ll learn more as we proceed in this series. But despite this fact, the author managed to portray the characters and the storyline well enough. I liked Aoife’s character. She’s smart and sassy. Yet she doesn’t have much freedom about her choice. She’s forced to study to become a doctor because of her father when clearly her heart belongs to art just like her mother. There’s a mystery about her mother’s death as well. And I feel it might be connected somehow to Lucas’s case. Well I guess I have to wait for a bit to learn that. Nonetheless, I loved their sizzling chemistry. Lucas hasn’t been with anyone in eight years after his fiancé death and for the first time after meeting Aoife, he begins to feel something. Their relationship (if you can call that) grows steadily and they both bring out a different part of themselves but the question remains, can an actual relationship be possible between them?

Overall, Scrubs was a sexy read and a fantastic start to a series. I throughly enjoyed this book, it was filled with drama and suspense and I couldn’t wait to learn that what was going to happen next. I loved the romance between Lucas and Aoife . The mysterious aspect was well maintained and I can’t wait to read the next installment, specially after how it ended with that cliffhanger!

Recommend it?

Yes!


So guys, have you read this delicious book yet? Or do you want to? Share your thoughts in the comments!