Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia || Where everything was so freaking relatable!

Title: Eliza and Her Monsters
Author: Francesca Zappia
Standalone
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Mental health, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 405 pages, Ebook
Published: May 30th, 2017 by Greenwillow Books
Source: Purchased
My Rating:

Blurb (from Goodreads):

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.


This book was so serious freaking relatable, in so many ways. Although some parts were predictable yet this book did not fail to surprise me in numerous ways and I enjoyed the ride throughout the book!

In real life, Eliza is a shy and quiet teen who mostly prefers staying in her room rather than going out but online, she is a sensation. Eliza is the anonymous creator of a successful web comic known as Monstrous Sea. Her life shakes up a little when a new guy joins her school who she surprisingly finds a huge fan of her comic. But when her anonymous life clashes with the real one, will Eliza be able to bring back sanity in her life?

Relatable characters!

I seriously freaking loved this book so much! The plot of Eliza and Her Monsters was refreshing although a bit predictable but I loved how everything was executed. Eliza is a pretty famous person online being the creator of a successful web comic in contrast to her real life. Eliza simply loves creating and her comic, Monstrous Sea is read by people all over the world.

“I made Monstrous Sea because it’s the story I wanted. I wanted a story like it, and I couldn’t find one, so I created it myself.”

And it’s not limited to that, there are fan-fictions and even merchandise in accord of her comic. But to avoid being too anxious about everything, being anonymous helped a lot. I sooo could understand that.

Adorable romance!

I really enjoyed how the story took its turn when Wallace enrolls in Eliza’s school. Things start changing for her, especially after she finds out he is a huge fan of her comics. Wallace also has selective mutism, another great rep! Anyway, he is such an adorable character, a perfect combo of a nerd and jock! And I loved his passion for writing.

“You found me in a constellation.”

Eliza and Wallace’s friendship starts off awkwardly but turns into something beautiful. They truly understood each other and balanced each other out. The romance as predicted was really adorable too!!

Positive Internet rep!

And, hands off to the internet rep in this book! Many parents, including mine, don’t agree that internet friends are real friends. They don’t even have an idea how much wrong they are. I found my freaking best friend on the internet, someone who understands me more than my real life friends but try telling my parents that! And this front was so much relatable because Eliza’s parents pretty much think the same way but they didn’t realise how much precious her online relationships were. I LOOOVED the relationship Eliza had with her online group which included Emmy and Max and the three of them were of different age groups, it really showed how age didn’t really matter when it comes to friendship. Also, the representation of parents was reeeally done well. I could relate so freaking much. Again. And I really loved that although they didn’t totally understand Eliza and they promised to try and that’s what counts the most.

Mental Illness represented right!

During the last quarter of the book when Eliza’s life exploded after her real identity got revealed, it really did a number on her. Kudos to the accurate representation of anxiety in this book. It’s really well done.

“There is a small monster in my brain that controls my doubt.
The doubt itself is a stupid thing, without sense or feeling, blind and straining at the end of a long chain. The monster though, is smart. It’s always watching, and when I am completely sure of myself, it unchains the doubt and lets it run wild. even when I know it’s coming, I can’t stop it.”

I thought the revelation was going to be pretty soon in the book as it’s given in the blurb but it happens pretty much during the end. Anyway, although things got too much for her, she was still brave and I admired that so much. It took a lot of courage after what she did next and I was cheering for her till the very end. She couldn’t have done it all without the support of her friends, family and Wallace. The ending didn’t fail to bring a smile on my face.

Overall

Eliza and Her Monsters was a pretty awesome read. The plot although predictable was executed neatly and I fell in love with the characters. I loved the romance between Eliza and Wallace and I really wanted more! The writing was beautiful and smooth and the pace was even throughout the book. I am definitely looking forward to reading more by this author!

Recommend it?

Yes!


So guys, what are your thoughts on this book? Did you enjoy it or is it still in your tbr?

27 thoughts on “Review: Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia || Where everything was so freaking relatable!

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: September 2017! |
  2. I have heard so many great things about this series, so it makes me so happy to hear you liked this so much! 🙂 Seeing another glowing review from you just makes me even more anxious to give it a try. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fantastic review Poulami! This one is on my “radar” as it gets so many good reviews. Added to my TBR now. I just have to find 1) the money 2) the time to read it. Easy peasy LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhh fantastic review, Poulami! I’m so happy you loved this book so much – I only read positive reviews about this one so far and I added it to my TBR in a hurry, because it sounded fabulous. It sounds so relatable and I just love how it focuses on internet and friendships there and everything 🙂 I need to buy it soon ahah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s