Daydreaming Discussions: Book Slumps and Accountability List!

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also, be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

I am pretty much going through a life slump, losing interest in everything I love and cherish. Reading and blogging are two of my utmost favourites and although I was sad that I was neither blogging nor reading, I couldn’t bring myself to start those things again. But deep down I knew I didn’t want to give up on these either, so I started again. At an extremely slow pace but nonetheless started again. So bear with me guys, don’t give up on me just yet.

I am listing down some of the techniques I think that work that helps in getting out of a slump:

Reread your favourite books

I am currently following this and it is actually helping. I have started with The Dark Artifices trilogy by Cassandra Clare and am currently on the second book now. I had already read book 1 and 2, so originally I intended to start with book 3 and I realised I forgot some of the key events. So, I thought rereading would be a good choice. I have always been a fan of the Shadowhunter world and diving back into this world is making me feel good. After finishing this series, I plan to start with The Nevernight Chronicles by Jay Kristoff. Pretty much same story, I have forgotten major events in book 1 and 2 and I love this series to death. So will be rereading it!

So if you are in a book slump, try this out. It might be just for you.

Read a standalone

A standalone does not come with the baggage of a list of books. I also tried this with books such as Landline by Rainbow Rowel and Batman by Marie Lu and Catwoman by Sarah J. Maas. Expect Landline which I found a bit slow, I loved the rest of the standalone and it kinda motivated me to start with the rereading.

Read a feel-good or lighter book

Dana Al-Basha دانة الباشا's review of Between the Sheets

Try one of your favourite genres. If it’s romance, you can try lighthearted books like What If It’s Us by Adam Silvera and Becky Albertali, Am I Normal Yet? and How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne… and there are a thousand others. Like, go pick up the mushiest mushy book you can find or… a stabby book or a creepy one. Take a peek at Goodreads or try one of your favourite authors. It usually works like a charm.

Take a break

Take A Break GIFs | Tenor

I did that. It was a long time. I didn’t want to do that anymore. So if you are not feeling like reading, give yourself a break and pick it up when you feel like it. 🙂

Since I have started with The Dark Artifices series, I thought I might well as list out the series I want to finish by the end of this year. I am personally not big on standalone and these series have been in my physical shelf for quite a long time now. So this is basically my accountability list. I genuinely hope I will be able to tick these off my list by December.

My Accountability List:

1. The Dark Artifices trilogy by Cassandra Clare

2. The Nevernight Chronicles by Jay Kristoff

3. The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness

This series has been waiting in my shelf for waaaaaaaaaaaay too long. 😛

4. The Warcross duology by Marie Lu


So guys, are any of you in a slump right now? What method works the best for you if you are in a slump?

Are any of these books in your to-read list? What do you feel about rereading? Also, what are the books you plan to finish by the end of this damned year?

19 thoughts on “Daydreaming Discussions: Book Slumps and Accountability List!

  1. Pingback: CHAOS WALKING TRILOGY BY PATRICK NESS: BOOK REVIEW // A MERCIFUL ADVENTURE? |
  2. When I’m in a slump I just tend to take a break now. I used to force myself to keep reading and keep picking up new (light-hearted) books or rereads even if I wasn’t in the mood, and then it just got worse! If I am on the edge of a slump though but I’m still in the mood to read, light-hearted books and rereads are so great!!
    Loved reading this post! It’s so interesting to see what others do when they’re in a slump (even though they suck!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry you went into a bit of a life slump but I’m glad you’re starting to get out of it now! Because I’m a big mood reader, sometimes having to read NetGalley books in order really messes with my reading motivation but I find setting small goals of how much to read per day can help. I totally agree about reading feel-good books too! ‘Heartstopper’ by Alice Oseman is always my go-to, haha. The ‘Chaos Walking’ trilogy is one of my favourites and I hope you’ll enjoy it when you read it! I’ve got to try and finish the ‘Nevernight’ books this year too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank yooou!
      Totally agree, that is why I am very hesistant with ARCs nowadays. I rarely request any more and I have completely stopped with Netgalley.
      I will definitely check out Heartstopper and have been meaning to start Oseman’s books.
      I hope we both get to reach the endgoal! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Slumps are the worst, but the good thing is that they’ll pass! I’m having a little reading slump at the moment as well, and I’m planning to just let it be and not stress it and maybe re-read an old favorite. That always helps me. Hope you’ll beat your slump soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. When I go into a slump, I let myself be, to be honest. I use the time to catch up on movies, TV shows and Kdramas. If my slump hasn’t gone after a while, I pick up old favourites or comfort reads (romance is always my comfort genre) and that generally helps.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I won’t give up on you Poulami! Life is hard and some of us experience it hader, feel more than others hence life slumps. They are not defective they are just real sponge for emotions, events etc and do tend to go into their ^protective shells. If you recognize yourself in this, know that you are just perfect as you are! Now back to your topic: I usually read some easy book with low expectation and lots of fun to go out of my slump. Something like a romcom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment