Review: Player’s Game by Desirae Clark || Where I Lost my Game in the Midst of Inconsistencies || Also, I’m Baaaack!!

Title: Player’s Game
Author: Desirae Clark
Series: Valentine Sisters series, book 1 [Can be read as a standalone]
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]
Heat Rating: Cool
Page Count and Format: 186 pages, Ebook
Published: December 25th, 2017 by BLVNP Incorporated
Source: I received an eARC from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
My Rating: 

Blurb (from Goodreads): 

And when I turned around, I expected to see my annoying little sisters but was instead greeted by a familiar face. In the threshold stood Parker Brady with a devious smirk on his face and the looks of a god.

Samantha Valentine’s life turns upside down when she finds out her family is returning to her old town, Scottsdale. It took her a while to make the city her home, and now all of that is for naught, as she has to learn to settle in a quiet town again.

Parker Brady is perfectly happy to make a mess of his life after his best friend, Samantha, left him. He felt betrayed by his most trusted friend, and now he doesn’t care about anyone anymore. The only thing that matters to him is getting girls.

The two are not so thrilled when they meet after years of being away. Old grudges resurface from the past.

Will Samantha and Parker restore their broken friendship? Or will something else rise from its ruins?


First of all, heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeey guys, I AM BAAAAAAAACK!! 🙂

(Goodness, I made way too many mistakes in the first post and published it before checking!!!)

Oh goodness, what a hectic month this was. Well honestly, I had it coming. That’s what you get for not studying the whole year. But oh well, I couldn’t concentrate on anything but I am doing better now… I think, it was a really a big issue but I felt like I haven’t studied this much my whole life. It was hilarious. Kinda. The exams were okay I guess? Eh, I don’t wanna think about that!

Well, I have started 2018 in a positive way. I hope it remains like that. 🙂

Also, I have 5k emails from you guys to check. Wish me luck.

Now onto the review. Before that, a short summary. Samantha’s mother’s job forced her to move away from Scottsdale but after a few of years, they are moving back in. She regretted losing her best friend the most who didn’t even bother trying to keep in touch. Now they are forced to face each other once again. It’s up to them to decide if they want their friendship to give another chance or let go of each other forever.

I’m going to do the point review thingy, okay guys.

🔘 The plot was cliched, it is based on second chance plus best friend romance trope which I looove very much. This book had a lot of potentials if executed rightly but I personally didn’t feel the element of something new.

🔘 The biggest problem I had with the book was, I felt there was way more telling than showing. I mean there’s a balance but I didn’t find that in the book which made it difficult for me to actually care about the characters.

🔘 Now, onto Samantha and Parker. I somewhat liked Samantha but I hoped she would have stood up for herself when she got to know a very important detail about her personal life despite being famous as the notorious prankster as a kid when she was still in Scottsdale. And when that thing proceeded to become a bigger issue, well she did handle it a mature way but it wouldn’t have come to the point if she had clarified earlier about that certain thing.

🔘 And Parker, I don’t know what to say but one thing is, he was a pretty crappy one. He completely cut off Samantha when she moved away. I was curious to know the reason behind it. He gave a pretty lame ass excuse. I was actually enraged!! I mean how could he have a grudge against a Samantha when he clearly knew it was not her fault. Even after realising that, he still didn’t. I think Samantha was better off than being with a guy who called himself her best friend. He was too immature and stubborn.

🔘 Also, the plot focused on way too much thinking rather than interacting. There were rarely one or two conversations the main leads had before they realised they had feelings for each other. It was weird okay. Just weird. The plot had too many inconsistencies that made no sense at all. Also, I didn’t feel the chemistry and Parker was way too bossy sometimes.

Overall, I didn’t enjoy this book. I thought I was going to love this one but it turned out the complete opposite. It was a light read but too much telling even spoiled that. The pacing was sometimes too slow and sometimes too face it was hard to keep track. Anyways. I hope my next read does not let me down.

Recommend it?

No.


Soooo guys, have you read this? Do you want to?

11 thoughts on “Review: Player’s Game by Desirae Clark || Where I Lost my Game in the Midst of Inconsistencies || Also, I’m Baaaack!!

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: February 2018! |

Leave a comment